THE CITÉ DES VINS IN BEAUNE

The CAPITAL OF BOURGOGNE WINES

It is only natural that the main site for the Cité des vins & des Climats de Bourgogne should be in Beaune, the capital of Bourgogne wines. Beaune is a very important destination for tourism in the Bourgogne winegrowing region. With the emblematic Hôtel Dieu and its varnished tiles, home to the celebrated Hospices de Beaune and its world-famous wine auction on the third Sunday in November, but also its centuries-old cellars, starred restaurants, wine bars, tasting cellars, busy markets, shady terraces, festivals, and so on. Beaune welcomes almost two million visitors from around the world every year.

The charms of this city of arts and its surrounding villages is further magnified by its unique location at the crossroads of several major European axes. No fewer than 60 million vehicles pass by through this area every year.

©SIZ'-IX Architectes

 

A SHOWCASE FOR THE CLIMATS OF THE Bourgogne winegrowing region

The wines and the Climats of the Bourgogne winegrowing region are intimately linked. They share the same themes of history, culture, terroir, soil, appellations, toponomy, varietals, cuvées, and so on.

Inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2015, the Climats of the Bourgogne winegrowing region, the result of more than 2000 years of history and the detailed division of the vineyards into a patchwork of more than 1,000 Climats or plots, cover almost 60km across the Côte de Nuits and Côte de Beaune.

With a surface area of some 3600m2, the Cité in Beaune will be the biggest of the three. It will present the vineyard in all its glory, as in Chablis and Mâcon, but will widen out certain themes. It will also host a special Center for Understanding the Climats of the Bourgogne winegrowing region, which will have its own area within the exhibition.

 

THE ARCHITECTURAL APPROACH

The Rougeot group, along with architect Emmanuelle Andreani from the SIZ’-IX Architectes agency, were unanimously selected for the construction of this Cité.

      

©SIZ'-IX Architectes

 

The building is part of the wider territory of Beaune and its vineyards, and integrates the urban, landscape-related and environmental intentions for the site. The ambition was to create a place for living, an identifying symbol of a remarkable territory and winegrowing land. It acts as the gateway for discovering the Bourgogne winegrowing region, bringing together north and south in one place.

“Led by Rougeot, a local winegrower firmly rooted in his land, we walked through the Climats, and through the vines, smelled the earth, and listened to the winegrowers. We told and retold each other the history of this region, its culture, the harmonious coexistence found here, and from these experiences, the project was born.”

Emmanuelle Andréani.

some exceptional natural surroundings

This innovative construction is inspired by the tendrils of a vine coiling around its trellis. It will stand 21 meters high and offer spectacular views over the vine-covered hillsides from the panoramic terrace.

Thanks to this circular progress, the coil also evokes the perpetual movement happening in the vines: The changing seasons, the growth cycle of the vines, which, year after year, repeat and repeat, without ever being the same…

©SIZ'-IX Architectes - ©BIVB / Sébastien NARBEBURU

This innovative and state-of-the-art landscaped feature will be set in a 10-hectare tree-filled park, and will be a model of eco-sustainable commitment, with:

  • Noble and bio-sourced materials
  • A vegetation-covered roof over the event space for improved thermal and acoustic performance
  • The productionof renewable geothermic and photovoltaic energy

 

THE CREATION OF A NEW NEIGHBORHOOD, just MOMENTS FROM THE TOWN CENTER

The Cité des vins & des Climats de Bourgogne in Beaune will be the flagship of a commercial center including complementary services (luxury hotel, entertainment center, high-class shopping, etc.). This new neighborhood, to be constructed around the Cité and coordinated by the municipality of Beaune, will be financed by private investors.

A harmony will be created between the Cité des vins & des Climats de Bourgogne and these complementary services. Indeed, a joint development of a wooded part, the forecourt and the car parking area, will be orchestrated by a project management team selected by the city of Beaune, project owner of the Cité.

 

THE SCENOGRAPHIC APPROACH

The Alice dans les villes agency, part of the Rougeot group, will design the narrative of the interior spaces and will translate the key messages about Bourgogne wines and Climats into scenographic spaces.




The visitor experience will extend across 1,100m2. It will be arranged in sequences and discovery areas around the theme of the terroir, wines and Climats of the Bourgogne region.

The scenography will evoke the inner and outer landscape of the world of Bourgogne wine. Its patchwork of landscapes, history, natural elements, grape varietals, the work in the vines, the art of winemaking, and the aromas and diversity of its wines will all be represented through this tour. And of course, there will be a space that is specially dedicated to the Climats, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Through sensory and immersive experiences, the tour will share with visitors the key elements they need to know about Bourgogne wines and Climats.

A special tour for children will be along the visitor trail. It will involve hiding places accessible to little ones, along with a short story and game. As such, they will be able to have fun while discovering the unique characteristics of the Bourgogne region and its winegrowing terroir.

The scenographic mood will be organized around a network of wooden openings. These will give a glimpse of the different scenes along the visitor trail and provide a backbone for the experience.

OPENING IN SPRING 2022

LA CITE DES VINS A BEAUNE

LA CAPITALE DES VINS DE BOURGOGNE

Il était naturel que le site principal de la Cité des vins soit implanté à Beaune, capitale des vins de Bourgogne. Beaune est une destination touristique de première importance en Bourgogne. Avec son emblématique Hôtel Dieu aux tuiles vernissées « les Hospices de Beaune » et sa célèbre vente aux enchères des vins, de renommée internationale, le 3ème dimanche de novembre, mais aussi ses caves séculaires, ses restaurants étoilés, ses brasseries, ses bars à vins, ses caveaux de dégustation, ses marchés animés, ses terrasses ombragées, ses festivals… la capitale de la Bourgogne séduit les visiteurs du monde entier. Ils sont d’ailleurs près de 2 millions par an à venir fouler les pavés de la ville.

Les charmes de cette ville d’Art et de ses villages viticoles alentours, sont par ailleurs favorisés par une situation exceptionnelle au carrefour des grands axes de circulation européens. Ce ne sont pas moins de 60 millions de véhicules qui passent chaque année aux portes du Pays Beaunois.

 

UN ECRIN POUR LES CLIMATS DU VIGNOBLE DE BOURGOGNE

Les vins et les Climats du vignoble de Bourgogne sont intimement liés. Les thématiques sont communes : histoire, culture, terroir, sous-sol, les clos, classification des appellations, toponymie, cépages, cuvées…. 

Inscrits au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 2015, les Climats du vignoble de Bourgogne résultent de plus de 2000 ans d’histoire et d’un vignoble extrêmement parcellisé qui a créé une mosaïque de plus de 1000 Climats s’étirant sur près de soixante kilomètres sur la Côte de Nuits et la Côte de Beaune.

Forte de ses 3600 m2 de surface, la Cité à Beaune sera la plus grande des trois cités. Elle présentera le vignoble dans toutes ses dimensions, comme à Chablis et Mâcon, mais en approfondissant certaines thématiques. Elle sera également le centre d’interprétation de référence des Climats du vignoble de Bourgogne ; un espace lui sera entièrement dédié au sein du parcours de visite.

 

LE GESTE ARCHITECTURAL

Le groupe ROUGEOT et l’architecte Emmanuelle ANDREANI, de l’agence SIZ’-IX Architectes, ont été sélectionnés à l’unanimité par le jury d’appel d’offres pour la construction de cette cité.

      

 

Ce bâtiment s’inscrit dans le territoire élargi de Beaune et ses vignobles, et prend en charge les intentions urbaines, paysagères et environnementales de l’aménagement du site. L’ambition était de créer un lieu de vie, symbole identitaire d’un territoire et d’un vignoble remarquables. Dans sa composition, il incarne la porte d’entrée de la découverte du territoire bourguignon en réunissant le Nord et le Sud en un lieu.

« Emmené par Rougeot, vigneron, ancré dans son territoire ; ensemble, nous avons arpenté les climats, avons marché dans les vignes, humé la terre, écouté les vignerons… nous nous sommes re-raconté l’histoire de cette région, sa culture, son bien-vivre… nous avons apprécié ces rencontres, aimé ses paysages... de ces expériences est né le projet. »

Emmanuelle Andréani.

UNE CITÉ AU COEUR D'UN ÉCRIN PAYSAGER

Ouvrage innovant inspiré de la vrille de la vigne qui s’enroule autour du fil de palissage, la future cité s’élèvera à 21m de haut et offrira une vue sur la côte viticole depuis sa terrasse panoramique.

Par sa progression circulaire, la vrille évoque également le mouvement perpétuel à l’œuvre dans le vignoble : le cercle des saisons, le cycle végétatif de la vigne... qui années après années se répète sans jamais se reproduire tout à fait à l’identique.

Ce bâtiment paysage, intégré dans un parc arboré de 10 hectares, sera un modèle d’engagement éco-durable. En effet, cet équipement innovant et performant prévoit :

  • L’utilisation de matériaux nobles et biosourcés pour la construction
  • Une toiture végétalisée sur le plateau scénographique permettant d’améliorer les performances thermiques et acoustiques
  • La production d’énergie renouvelable : géothermie et photovoltaïque

  

LA NAISSANCE D’UN NOUVEAU QUARTIER À DEUX PAS DU cœur DE VILLE

La Cité des vins & des Climats de Bourgogne à Beaune sera le phare d’un campus incluant des services complémentaires (hôtel haut de gamme, halle évènementielle, galerie de produits d’excellence…). Ce nouveau quartier, élaboré autour de la Cité et coordonné par la ville de Beaune, sera financé par des investisseurs privés.

Une harmonie sera créée entre la Cité des vins & des Climats de Bourgogne et ces services complémentaires. En effet, un aménagement commun du parc arboré, du parvis et du parking sera réalisé par une équipe de maîtrise d’œuvre sélectionnée par la ville de Beaune, maître d’ouvrage pour la Cité à Beaune.

 

LE PARTI PRIS SCENOGRAPHIQUE

L’agence Alice dans les villes, du groupement ROUGEOT, théâtralisera les espaces intérieurs et traduira en espaces scénographiques les messages clés des vins de Bourgogne et des Climats.




Le parcours de visite s’étendra sur 1100 mètres carrés. Il sera organisé en séquences et espaces de découvertes autour de la thématique du terroir, des vins et des Climats de Bourgogne.

La scénographie sera l’évocation d’un paysage intérieur et extérieur du monde viticole de la Bourgogne. La mosaïque des paysages, l’histoire, les facteurs naturels, les cépages, le travail de la vigne, l’art de la vinification, les arômes et la diversité des vins, tous seront représentés dans ce parcours de visite. Sans oublier un espace spécialement dédié aux Climats, inscrits au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

Par des expériences sensorielles et immersives, le parcours de visite transmettra aux visiteurs des savoirs clés autour des vins de Bourgogne et des Climats.

Un parcours dédié aux enfants sera implanté tout au long du parcours de visite. Il sera conçu sous forme de cachettes accessibles aux petits et comprenant une petite histoire ainsi qu’un jeu adapté. Ils pourront ainsi découvrir les spécificités de la Bourgogne et de son terroir tout en s’amusant.


L’ambiance scénographique s’organisera autour d’une trame de claires-voies en bois. Elles permettront d’entrevoir les différentes scènes scénographiques. Elles seront la colonne vertébrale du parcours.

OUVERTURE PRÉVUE PRINTEMPS 2022

Les visuels présentés sont non contractuels.