THE CITE DES VINS IN CHABLIS

promoting the chablis and grand auxerrois winegrowing regions

The Chablis region covers around 20 communes and has been called “the Golden Gateway to the Bourgogne Region”. There are 47 Climats here, with names like Vaudésir, Blanchot, Grenouilles, Fourchaume, and Montée de Tonnerre that resonate with a fabulous history.

The Grand Auxerrois also has unique qualities. It is home to a varied range of Regional and Village appellations across a multitude of ancient winegrowing areas like the Jovinien, the Auxerrois, the Vézelien, and the Tonnerrois. There are also other varietals than the traditional Chardonnay and Pinot Noir typically found in the Bourgogne winegrowing region, expanding the offer even further. These include Aligoté, Sauvignon Blanc, Melon, Sacy, César, and Gamay. This diversity makes the Grand Auxerrois region just as attractive as the neighboring Chablis territory. The vineyard of the Châtillonais also takes its place as the vineyard of Northern Burgundy.

©BIVB-Aurélien Ibanez

 

IN CHABLIS AT THE CELLIER DU PETIT PONTIGNY

Tucked away in the vines, its international reputation makes this village a global icon for wine lovers. With most of its revenue coming from winegrowing, Chablis is a picture-postcard of a typical winegrowing village. As the figurehead of the Chablis an d Grand Auxerrois region, Chablis was an obvious location for the Cité des vins in the Yonne. The charming Cellier du Petit Pontigny will receive the Cité in the heart of the village.

 

THE ARCHITECTURAL APPROACH

The Atelier Correia Architectes & Associés has been selected for this ambitious project.

The ambition of this architectural approach is to establish a link between past, present, and future through historical structures

© BIVB / Correia Architectes, Emmanuel Correia

 

An expressive contemporary approach

The project proposed by Correia consists of restructuring the Cellier du Petit Pontigny, a heritage building dating back to the 12th century, and completing it with a contemporary extension designed with respect for this ancient heritage and resulting a surface area of something nearing 900m2.

The contemporary wing will be separated from the old building, while the whole will surround a garden that is the perfect place for a stroll.

© BIVB / Correia Architectes, Emmanuel Correia

A “PROMENADE” BUILDING SHOWCASING THE VEGETABLE AND THE MINERAL

Visitors will be invited to stroll along the “Climats trail”, an innovative educational sloping path that reveals the different strata in the Chablis terroir and provides a place for sensorial discovery.

As such, the visitor experience begins in the entrance to this public exterior, which will be made to create a micro-landscape inspired by rows of vines in a space to animate over the seasons.

 

THE SCENOGRAPHIC APPROACH

Neither a museum nor an exhibition space, the Cité in Chablis, as conceived by the team from Studio Adeline Rispal, will be a unique and innovative place that focuses on offering visitors a sensorial experience.

Visitors will experience the richness, variety, and subtlety of Bourgogne wines.

The will understand how wine is all about time in all its guises and on all its scales (civilization, heritage, geology, vinification, conviviality, and passion)

© BIVB / Studio Adeline Rispal

 

The scenographic approach will be organized around three key elements that will overlap:

  • A unique universe of material strata to touch and immaterial ones to admire and to listen to, like an immersive landscape
  • A landscape of words to make the Climats understandable and allow visitors to become intoxicated with the language of wine
  • A sound environment with natural sound effects and melodies to reinforce the sensation of immersion

The visitor’s every sense will be required, with tactile, visual, olfactory, and acoustic sensations galore.

Visitors will immerse themselves down through the strata, constructing their own experience of wine.

© BIVB / Studio Adeline Rispal

OPENING IN SPRING 2022

LA CITE DES VINS A CHABLIS

VALORISER LE VIGNOBLE DE CHABLIS ET DE L'AUXERROIS

Le pays du Chablis s’étend sur une vingtaine de communes. On a donné à ce vignoble le joli nom de Portes d’Or de la Bourgogne. On compte ici 47 Climats baptisés Vaudésir, Blanchot, Grenouilles, Fourchaume, Montée de Tonnerre… des noms qui résonnent d’une fabuleuse histoire.

Le Grand Auxerrois regorge aussi de particularités avec une gamme variée d’appellations répartie sur une multitude de vignobles ancien tel que le Jovinien, l’Auxerrois, le Vézelien, le Tonnerrois, et composant une large palette d’AOC Régionales et Villages. On y retrouve également des cépages bourguignons autres que les emblématiques Chardonnay et Pinot Noir, qui forment une offre plurielle : Aligoté, Sauvignon blanc, Melon, Sacy, César et Gamay.  Cette diversité rend le vignoble du Grand Auxerrois tout aussi attractif que son voisin Chablisien. Le vignoble du Châtillonais prend également sa place en tant que vignoble du Nord de la Bourgogne.

©BIVB-Aurélien Ibanez

 

A CHABLIS, AU CŒUR DU CELLIER DU PETIT PONTIGNY

Localisé au cœur du vignoble, son nom mondialement connu fait de ce village une icône internationale des amateurs de vin. Vivant majoritairement de la viticulture, Chablis est la carte postale du village vigneron typique. Figure de proue du vignoble « Chablis et Grand Auxerrois », c’est le lieu évident pour la Cité des vins dans l’Yonne. Le charmant Cellier du Petit Pontigny recevra la Cité en plein cœur du village.

 

LE GESTE ARCHITECTURAL

C’est l’atelier CORREIA Architectes & Associés qui a été retenu pour ce projet ambitieux. 

L’ambition du geste architectural est de faire le lien entre le passé, le présent et le futur au sein des édifices historiques.

© BIVB / Correia Architectes, Emmanuel Correia

 

UN GESTE CONTEMPORAIN EXPRESSIF

Le projet proposé par Correia consiste à restructurer le Cellier du Petit Pontigny, édifice patrimonial datant du 12ème siècle, et le compléter d'une extension contemporaine conçue dans le respect du patrimoine ancien permettant d’approcher une surface de 900 m2.

Le parti-pris est de dissocier cette aile contemporaine de l'ancien bâtiment. Le tout encadrera un jardin invitant à la promenade.

© BIVB / Correia Architectes, Emmanuel Correia

UN BÂTIMENT PROMENADE METTANT À L’HONNEUR LE VÉGÉTAL ET LE MINÉRAL 

Le visiteur sera invité à déambuler le long de la « rampe des climats », dispositif démonstratif et pédagogique novateur dévoilant les strates géologiques du terroir de Chablis et lieu de découvertes sensorielles.

Le parcours de visite commence ainsi dès l'entrée, dans cet espace public extérieur travaillé pour créer un micro-paysage inspiré des rangs de vigne, qui servira de support d'animation au fil des saisons.

 

LE PARTIS PRIS SCENOGRAPHIQUE

Ni musée ni centre d’interprétation, la Cité, telle que mise en scène par l’équipe du Studio Adeline Rispal sera un lieu unique et innovant tourné vers l’expérience sensorielle des visiteurs.

Le visiteur fera l’expérience de la richesse, de la variété et de la subtilité des vins de Bourgogne.

Il prendra conscience que le vin est une affaire de temps, le temps qui fait, le temps qui passe, le temps court ou long, de plusieurs natures et à plusieurs échelles (civilisation, patrimoine, géologie, vinification, convivialité, passion…).

© BIVB / Studio Adeline Rispal

 

Le concept scénographique proposé s’organise autour de 3 éléments qui interagissent entre eux :

  • Un univers singulier de strates matérielles à toucher et immatérielles à admirer et à écouter, tel un paysage immersif,
  • Un paysage de mots pour rendre lisible les Climats, s’enivrer du vocable des vins,
  • Un environnement sonore, avec des bruitages naturels et des mélodies, qui renforce la sensation d’immersion.

Tous les sens du visiteur seront sollicités : sensations tactiles, visuelles, olfactives, acoustiques….

Au rythme des strates, le visiteur s’immergera et construira sa propre expérience du vin.

© BIVB / Studio Adeline Rispal

OUVERTURE PREVUE AU PRINTEMPS 2022

Les visuels présentés sont non contractuels.